Characteristics of children aged 6 to 9 :

From the age of 6, the child consolidates his previous learning. He goes from an absorbing mind to an understanding mind. From 6 to 12 years old, he is constantly reasoning and questioning, buildings himself up:

- Socially: as a member of a community, he seeks the company of his peers. He likes to be with friends, to act in a group.

- Morally: he develops an awareness necessary for social and community life. He has a great sense of justice and wants to distinguish what is right from what is wrong. He asks himself questions about what is acceptable or unacceptable.

 - From the point of view of the imagination: it allows access to what is not visible or directly perceived by the senses. This creative faculty allows it to rise abstractly.

- Culturally: the child acquires culture

- Intellectually: the child is interested in everything and has the ability to access much more than we think.
The child having gone from "I" to "us", is able to decentralize himself and turn towards the world.

Thus, Montessori pedagogy encompasses the child in History: the history of the Earth, language and mathematics. By involving them in this way, particularly through the great stories, we make them aware of what they owe to those who have gone before them. It also makes them responsible for the continuation of history.

 


THE PROGRAMME

The 3-6 years / 6-12 years cut (which can be cut into 2 cycles 6-9 and 9-12) may seem artificial. It is not free. It corresponds, according to Maria Montessori, to two very distinct planes of child development.
As stated above, the child before the age of 6 is entirely centred on the construction of his or her own intellectual and emotional personhood from what surrounds him or her. After the age of 6, he becomes capable of decentring, of entering into abstraction and using his imagination to conceive of what is far from him, in time or space.


LANGUAGE

Writing and reading
To know how to write is both to know the shape of letters, to know
to draw them and connect them together while respecting the horizontal: an action
physical. But it also means knowing how to compose words, sentences and phrases

in a physical way. paragraphs, texts: an intellectual action. As with reading, one must

learn the tool "the code" and the aim of the tool "the meaning of what is written or read".
There are many steps to making a child a good reader and to really master writing. All

of them are indispensable, to Montessori, each of them is carefully broken down into
using the right equipment for each phase.

Word analysis
In the Montessori curriculum, 6 years old is the age of "Great Stories", which transport

the child in time and space to tell him what has happened before him since the

appearance of the Universe.
One of the stories is about the invention of writing, another is about the invention of

our language. It is therefore alive, it evolves, it has a story. Learning its history allows us

to better understand the words.  Learning the history of the language sometimes even

allows us to understand words we don't know.

Conjugation
In the field of conjugation, the Montessori approach offers a real step-by-step discovery.
It is not a question of putting the child in difficulty when faced with a verb

conjugated to all people by telling him to memorize them.
There is first of all a work of approach with the distinction between the noun and the

verb, the discovery of the different aspects of the verb and the sensitization to the notions of past, present, future.
The child has also already worked on pronouns, which will of course make it easier for people to understand the conjugation.

Explore the sentence to understand the function of the words
The purpose of this activity is to direct the child's attention to the function of words or groups of words so that he or she can better understand and interpret what he or she is reading. At this stage, the child needs to be able to read with ease and must have worked on all types of words (noun, adjective, verb, etc.). He will now analyse the structure of the sentences by experimenting with how each part is related to the verb using the material provided.

Written expression
Grammar, vocabulary and spelling are not ends in themselves: they are tools for expressing communication and artistic creation. There is another tool not to be neglected: style. This allows us to express ourselves in a way that is adapted to particular goals and audiences. It is important to learn and develop the tools and qualities of style, as well as imagination.

Oral expression
The child should be helped, as early as possible, to express himself/herself easily in public. A child from a Montessori school is normally not afraid to speak in front of others, because he is confident and is used to talking in groups with his peers. He should be shown how to organize his ideas and taught the art of captivating his audience.

 


MATHEMATICS

"The Story of Numbers" helps children understand the power of mathematics and motivates them to continue exploring numbers.
The progression in the Montessori mathematics curriculum is not strictly linear. Maria Montessori envisioned mathematics as a three-step progression:

the first level consists of numbers from one to ten, the value of the place              
and the four operations.
the second level is dedicated to the memorization of mathematical facts.  
the third level is where children study hierarchy, i.e. how numbers in the decimal system are related and grouped together.
Initially, they work from units to millions. Later, they learn that the concept of number is infinite. Children are free to climb from one level to the next while exploring different concepts of mathematics simultaneously.

By working with Montessori material, he will absorb these concrete notions which will later lead him to more abstract notions. From this point on, the child will have the potential to understand and appreciate mathematics. He will be able to build his own capacity for thinking and reasoning. This will be required for later abstract work.

Geometry
In a Montessori class all mathematical materials have a geometric aspect. Children between 3 and 6 years old study lines, angles and flat figures, as well as linear and cubic measurements. From the age of 6, children use boxes of cubes (binomial, trinomial) and prisms. Through their learning, children are able to discover abstract concepts of algebra, using materials that were once part of their sensory experiences.

NATURAL SCIENCE 

Plants and animals are an essential part of the 6-9 year old environment. Children study the anatomy, physiology, and classification of living things using classroom resources such as books, nomenclature maps, and diagrams. They write reports starting with a simple study of one organism to a more advanced study of several organisms. On the comparative study of life forms, children make connections between today's organisms and their predecessors on the life timeline. As conditions on earth have changed, organisms that have been more complex have evolved.


GEOGRAPHY

Maria Montessori called her course for children from the age of 6 "cosmic education". There are two directions involved in this concept. Firstly, teaching always starts with a study of the "whole", which gives children a unique vision and a holistic basis for their education. Secondly, it is emphasized that each part of the cosmos is linked to and contributes to the whole. As children study geography and other subjects, they become interested not only in the world and how it works, but also in their individual roles and the part they can play in the continuing history of humankind.
The Great Story of the "Creation of the Universe" provides a broad overview, and then moves on to more detailed studies of the earth and its place in the universe.


HISTORY

The child's sense of personal time is the starting point for the history programme. By noting the passage of days, months and birthdays, children develop this sense of time awareness. The historical sense of time through the timelines of life and first people is also taught, followed by the B.C./Apr. time line. These visual aids, presented with stories, specimens and artifacts, help children understand the evolution of life and the development of civilizations.


FOREIGN LANGUAGES: ENGLISH, GERMAN

The Little Seed Bilingual Montessori School believes that the teaching of foreign languages corresponds to the general objectives of Montessori pedagogy. The study of foreign languages is only one way to humanize another culture. From 1H to 3H, the objective is to expose children to the sounds of English in order to put them at ease by listening, repeating and speaking it with simple words and phrases. By 4H, we aim to develop the students' vocabulary and grammar so that they can begin to manipulate and use the language. In addition, they begin to read and write in English in class and at home. In 4H, the language allema


MUSIC


Elementary music builds on the foundations of the "Sensory" curriculum in the 3-6 year-old section. Students have developed reasonable control of movement, improved their listening skills, and have had opportunities to sing, make music and move to music. Elementary music instruction seeks to balance skill development with free exploration and encourages a natural desire for self-expression. It also aims to develop the child's musical vocabulary and awareness of all kinds of musical expression. Music has the potential to develop the intellect and also social skills. Many skills related to music contribute to cognitive functioning.


ART / CREATIVE ACTIVITIES

Elementary art education aims to strike a balance between the teaching of skills and free exploration to encourage the child's natural desire to express himself or herself, to build the child's artistic vocabulary, to make him or her aware of artists and their techniques, and to provide knowledge of the various forms of artistic expression, from architecture to painting, sculpture and computer graphics.
Through artistic adventures, children become aware of the contribution of the arts and artists to societies and cultures, past and present. They develop a respect for this contribution. They develop a lasting appreciation of art from the dual perspectives of the participant and the audience and that it can be a non-verbal method of expressing opinions, perceptions, feelings and history.

 


GYMNASTICS

Elementary physical education is based on balance and motor skills practiced in the 3-6 age structure. Montessori School seeks to instill in children a love of physical activity, a healthy interest in staying in shape and an appreciation of the emotional well-being that regular physical activity can provide. The elementary physical education programme gives children the necessary experience with the basic principles of good sportsmanship. Competition is maintained at a healthy level with an emphasis on teamwork and cooperation, the development of good sportsmanship and the ability to move as a means of achieving lifelong well-being.

Nous contacter

Adresse

70, Av. des vergers

1963 Vétroz

Caractéristiques des enfants de 6 à 9 ans :

 

Dès 6 ans l’enfant consolide ses apprentissages antérieurs. Il passe de l’esprit absorbant à l’esprit comprenant. De 6 à 12 ans, il raisonne et questionne sans cesse,

il se construit :

• Socialement : en tant que membre d’une collectivité, il cherche la compagnie de  ses pairs. Il aime être avec des amis, agir en groupe.

• Moralement : il développe une conscience nécessaire à la vie sociale et communautaire. Il a un grand sens de la justice et veut distinguer ce qui est bien de ce qui est mal. Il se pose des questions sur ce qui est acceptable ou inacceptable.

 • Du point de vue de l’imagination : elle permet d’accéder à ce qui n’est pas visible ou directement perçu par les sens. Cette faculté créatrice lui permet de s’élever abstraitement.

• Culturellement : l’enfant acquiert la culture

• Intellectuellement : l’enfant s’intéresse à tout et a  la capacité d’accéder à beaucoup plus qu’on ne pense.

L’enfant étant passé du « je » au « nous », il est capable de se décentrer de lui-même et de se tourner vers le monde.

Ainsi, la pédagogie Montessori englobe l’enfant dans l’Histoire : l’histoire de la Terre, du langage et des mathématiques. En l’impliquant de cette manière, notamment à travers les grands récits, on le rend conscient de ce qu’il doit à ceux qui l’ont précédé. On le rend également responsable de la suite de l’Histoire.

LE PROGRAMME 

Le découpage 3-6 ans / 6-12 ans (qui peut être recoupé en 2 cycles 6-9 et 9-12) peut paraître artificiel. Il n’est pas gratuit. Il correspond, selon Maria Montessori, à deux plans bien distincts du développement de l’enfant.

Comme précisé plus haut,  l’enfant avant 6 ans est entièrement centré sur la construction de sa propre personne intellectuelle et émotionnelle de ce qui l’entoure. Après 6 ans, il devient capable de se décentrer, d’entrer dans l’abstraction et utiliser

son imagination pour concevoir ce qui est loin de lui, dans le temps ou l’espace.

 

 

FRANCAIS

Ecrire et lire

Savoir écrire, c’est à la fois connaître la forme des lettres, savoir les tracer et les relier

entre elles en respectant l’horizontale une action physique. Mais c’est aussi savoir

composer des mots, des phrases de paragraphes, des textes : une action

intellectuelle.

Comme pour la lecture, il faut apprendre l’outil « le code » et le but de l’outil

« le sens de ce qui est écrit ou lu ».

Il y a beaucoup d’étapes pour que l’enfant devienne un bon lecteur et maîtrise

réellement l’écriture. Toutes sont indispensables, à Montessori, on décompose

soigneusement chacune d’elles en utilisant le matériel adapté à chaque phase.

Analyse des mots

Dans le cursus Montessori, 6 ans est l’âge des « Grands Récits », ces  derniers

transportent l’enfant dans le temps et l’espace pour lui raconter ce qui s’est passé

avant lui depuis l’apparition de l’Univers.

L’un des récits concerne l’invention de l’écriture, un autre celui de notre  langue.

Celle-ci est donc vivante, elle évolue, elle a une histoire. Apprendre  son histoire,

permet de mieux comprendre les mots.

Apprendre l’histoire de la langue permet même parfois de comprendre des mots que l’on ne connaît pas.

La conjugaison

Dans le domaine de la conjugaison l’approche Montessori propose un vrai pas à pas dans la découverte.

Il n’est pas question de mettre l’enfant en difficulté face à un verbe conjugué à toutes les personnes en lui enjoignant de les mémoriser.

Il y a d’abord un travail d’approche avec la distinction entre le nom et le verbe, la découverte des différents aspects du verbe et la sensibilisation aux notions de passé, présent, futur.

L’enfant a aussi déjà travaillé sur les pronoms, ce qui facilitera bien entendu la compréhension des personnes de la conjugaison.

Explorer la phrase pour comprendre la fonction des mots

Le but de cette activité est de diriger l’attention de l’enfant vers la fonction des mots ou des groupes de mots afin qu’il puisse mieux comprendre et interpréter ce qu’il lit. A ce stade, l’enfant à besoin de savoir lire avec facilité et doit avoir travaillé sur toutes les natures de mots (nom, adjectif, verbe, etc.). Il va maintenant analyser la structure des phrases en expérimentant comment chaque partie est reliée au verbe à l’aide du matériel mit à disposition.

L’expression écrite

La grammaire, le vocabulaire, l'orthographe ne sont pas des fins en soi : ce sont des outils d’expression de communication, de création artistique. Il existe un autre outil à ne pas négliger : le style. Ce qui permet de s’exprimer d’une façon adaptée à des buts et à des publics particuliers. Il convient d’apprendre et de développer les outils et les qualités de style, ainsi que l’imagination.

 

L’expression orale

Il faut aider l’enfant, le plus tôt possible, à s’exprimer aisément en public. Un enfant issu d’une école Montessori n’a normalement aucune crainte à parler devant les autres, car il a confiance en lui et il a l’habitude d’échanger en groupe avec ses camarades. Il faut lui montrer comment organiser ses idées et lui apprendre l’art de captiver son audience.

 

MATHEMATIQUES

 

L’ «histoire des nombres» aide les enfants à comprendre la puissance des mathématiques et les motive à continuer l’exploration des chiffres.

La progression dans le cursus de mathématiques Montessori n'est pas strictement linéaire. Maria Montessori a envisagé les mathématiques comme une progression à trois niveaux : 

le premier niveau se compose des nombres de un à dix, la valeur de la place t les quatre opérations. 

le deuxième niveau est dédié à la mémorisation des faits mathématiques.   

le troisième niveau est l'endroit où les enfants étudient la hiérarchie, c'est-à-dire comment les nombres dans le système décimal sont liés et regroupés. Au départ, ils travaillent de l’unité aux millions. Plus tard, ils apprennent que le concept de nombre est infini. Les enfants sont libres de grimper d'un niveau à l'autre tout en explorant différents concepts de

mathématiques simultanément.

En travaillant à l’aide du matériel Montessori, il absorbera ces notions concrètes qui le conduiront plus tard vers des notions plus abstraites. À partir de ce moment, l’enfant aura le potentiel de comprendre et d’apprécier les mathématiques. Il pourra construire lui-même sa capacité de penser et de raisonner. Celui-ci sera requis pour un travail d’abstraction ultérieur.

La géométrie

Dans une classe Montessori tous les matériaux mathématiques ont un aspect géométrique. Les enfants entre 3 et 6 ans étudient les lignes, les angles et les figures planes, ainsi que les mesures linéaires et cubiques. Dès 6 ans,  les enfants utilisent des boîtes de cubes (binôme, trinôme) et de prismes. Grâce à leurs apprentissages, les enfants sont en mesure de découvrir des concepts abstrait de l’algèbre, en utilisant des matériaux qui autrefois faisaient partie de leurs expériences sensorielles.

 

 

SCIENCE DE LA NATURE  

Les plantes et les animaux sont une partie essentielle de l’environnent des 6-9 ans. Les enfants étudient l’anatomie, la physiologie et la classification des êtres vivants en utilisant des ressources en classe telle que des livres, des cartes de nomenclature et des diagrammes. Ils écrivent des rapports en commençant par une simple étude d’un organisme à une étude plus avancée de plusieurs organismes. Sur l’étude comparative des formes de vie, les enfants font des liens entre les organismes d’aujourd’hui et leurs prédécesseurs sur la ligne de temps de vie. Comme les conditions sur la terre ont changé, les organismes qui ont été plus complexes ont évolué.

GEOGRAPHIE

Maria Montessori a appelé son cours pour les enfants dès 6 ans « l’éducation cosmique ». Il y a deux directions impliquées dans ce concept. Tout d’abord, l’enseignement commence toujours par une étude de « l’ensemble », qui donne aux enfants une vision unique et une base holistique pour leur éducation. Deuxièmement, il est souligné que chaque partie du cosmos est liée et contribue à l’ensemble. Au fur et à mesure que les enfants étudient la géographie et d’autres sujets, ils s’intéressent non seulement au monde et à son fonctionnement, mais aussi à leur rôle individuel et à la part qu’ils peuvent jouer dans l’histoire continue de l’humanité.

Le Grand Récit de « la création de l’univers » donne une vision de l’ensemble, pour ensuite passer à des études plus détaillées sur la terre et sa place dans l’univers.

 HISTOIRE

Le sens du temps personnel de l’enfant est le point de départ du programme d’histoire. En notant le passage des jours, des mois et des anniversaires, les enfants développent cette conscience du temps. Le sens historique du temps à travers les lignes temporelles de la vie et des premières personnes est aussi enseigné, puis la ligne du temps « av. J.-C./apr. J.-C. Ces aides visuelles présentées avec des histoires, des spécimens et des artefacts, aident les enfants à comprendre l’évolution de la vie et le développement des civilisations.

 

 

LANGUES ETRANGERES : ANGLAIS, ALLEMAND

L’Ecole Bilingue Montessori "Little Seed" estime que l'enseignement des langues étrangères correspond aux objectifs généraux de la pédagogie Montessori. L'étude des langues étrangères n'est qu'une façon d'humaniser une autre culture. De la 1H à la 3H, l'objectif est d'exposer les enfants aux sons de l'anglais afin de les mettre à l'aise en l'écoutant, en le répétant et en le parlant avec des mots et des phrases simples. Dès la 4H, nous visons à développer le vocabulaire et la grammaire des élèves afin qu'ils puissent commencer à manipuler et à utiliser la langue. De plus, ils commencent à lire et à écrire en anglais en classe et à la maison. En 4H, la langue allemande est aussi enseignée par immersion. Vocabulaires, textes, histoires et jeux de rôle sont proposés.

 

 

MUSIQUE

La musique élémentaire s'appuie sur les fondements du programme d'études « Sensoriel » de la section 3-6 ans. Ces derniers ont développé un contrôle raisonnable du mouvement, ont perfectionné leur capacité d'écoute et ont eu l'occasion de chanter, de faire de la musique et de bouger en musique. L'enseignement de la musique élémentaire cherche à trouver un équilibre entre le développement des compétences et l'exploration libre et encourage un désir naturel d'expression personnelle. Il vise également à développer le vocabulaire musical de l'enfant et à le sensibiliser à toutes sortes d'expressions musicales. La musique a le potentiel de développer l'intellect et aussi les aptitudes sociales. De nombreuses compétences liées à la musique contribuent au fonctionnement cognitif.

 

ART / ACTIVITES CREATRICES

L'enseignement élémentaire de l'art vise à trouver un équilibre entre l'enseignement des compétences et l'exploration libre à encourager le désir naturel de l'enfant à s'exprimer, à construire le vocabulaire artistique de l'enfant, à le sensibiliser aux artistes et à leurs techniques et à la connaissance des différentes formes d'expression artistique, de l'architecture à la peinture en passant par la sculpture et l'infographie.

Par le biais d'aventures artistiques, les enfants prennent conscience de la contribution des arts et des artistes aux sociétés et aux cultures, passées et présentes. Ils développent un respect pour cette apport. Ils acquièrent une appréciation durable de l'art du double point de vue du participant et du public et qu'il peut être une méthode non-verbale d'exprimer des opinions, des perceptions, des sentiments et de l'histoire.

 

GYMNASTIQUE

 

L'éducation physique élémentaire s'appuie sur l'équilibre et les habiletés motrices pratiquées dans la structure 3-6 ans. L’école Montessori cherche à inculquer aux enfants l'amour de l'activité physique, un intérêt sain à rester en forme et une appréciation du bien-être émotionnel que l'activité physique régulière peut procurer. Le programme d'éducation physique élémentaire donne aux enfants l'expérience nécessaire avec les principes de base d'un bon esprit sportif. La compétition est maintenue à un niveau sain, l'accent étant mis sur le travail d'équipe et la coopération, le développement d'un bon esprit sportif et la capacité de bouger comme moyen d'atteindre le bien-être pour la vie.

Nous contacter

Adresse

70, Av. des vergers

1963 Vétroz